Whip It Up – Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake

I made a peanut butter cup cheesecake with my friend Wendy several years ago for our friend Dana’s birthday. It turned out really well, but neither Wendy or I thought to save a copy of the recipe. When I heard the suggested theme for Whip It Up this week was cheese, I decided to seek out that recipe. I Googled peanut butter cup cheesecake and came across the lovely Bake or Break site. If you just clicked on that link, you saw the picture I saw and therefore can understand why I was determined to try out this recipe even if it wasn’t the exact one we made for Dana years ago. Oh my word. Her cake is so beautiful.

She referenced the original recipe, so that’s the main one I used, but I used her suggestions for changing the topping and cooking method. I changed the recipe to reflect exactly what I did, but you can always read the Ruggles recipe if you want to try the original version.

The Whip It Up Questions:

Was the recipe easy to follow?

Sort of. I had several hesitations when reading the instructions, but I don’t know if that’s because I’m ignorant or if important details were missing. Should I use salted peanuts? Am I supposed to measure one cup of whole peanuts and then chop them, or do I truly need to use one cup of chopped peanuts?  Did they mean twelve regular-sized peanut butter cups or 12 miniature cups? Do I need to cover the cheesecake when I put it in the refrigerator? I don’t think these questions would necessarily make or break the dish, but I’ll tell you what I ended up doing: salted peanuts, measured 1 cup peanuts and then chopped, 24 miniature peanut butter cups, and covered with aluminum foil.

Did the dish taste good?

I thought it tasted very good.  The consistency of the cheesecake surprised me.  It was incredibly smooth, so it almost reminded me of a whipped peanut butter pie rather than a cheesecake.  If you are serving to people who aren’t fans of peanut butter, they definitely won’t like it.

Would you make it again?

Yes. It is definitely a keeper.  It’s a little trouble to make, but it’s worth it for a special occasion.

Ruggles Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake

Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake

4 1/2 cups crushed Oreo cookies
1 cup chopped roasted peanuts
1/2 cup butter, melted

Combine crushed Oreo cookies and peanuts that have been ground in a food processor with the melted butter.
Pat the crust mixture onto bottom and sides of a 10-inch springform pan.

2 lbs cream cheese, softened
5 eggs, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
1 cup smooth peanut butter (not natural-style)
1/2 cup whipping cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
12 Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, broken into small pieces

Beat cream cheese in bowl of electric mixer until smooth.
Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
Add sugar, peanut butter and cream; mix until smooth.
Stir in vanilla, then fold in peanut butter cup pieces with a rubber spatula.
Pour filling into prepared crust.

Bake the cheesecake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.
Decrease the temperature to 200 degrees and bake for 2 hours.
Run a thin, narrow spatula around the sides of the cake and return it to the oven, turning the oven off.
After two more hours, refrigerate overnight.

5 ounces milk chocolate chips
1/4 cup sour cream

In a saucepan over low heat, melt 5 milk chocolate chips with sour cream, stirring constantly. Spread it over the cheesecake and return it to the refrigerator to set up.

Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake

12 thoughts on “Whip It Up – Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake

  1. Ooh, that finished product is lovely! I hate it when recipes don’t clarify what all of that means. I assume that measurements of chopped things refer to the final measurement, not prior to chopping, but I have no clue.

  2. i go into a sugar coma just looking at that thing.
    the salted peanuts are a nice touch to “cut the sweet.”

  3. I’m with Julie. I was just thinking, “I’m gaining pounds just LOOKING at that dessert. But it’s beautiful and I know it was tasty!

  4. I was always curious about the measuring/chopping thing, especially when it comes to herbs (I think it makes more of a difference with herbs, because chopping them really reduces their volume and you could end up with LOTS more herbs than you’re supposed to).

    Anyway, I just learned this about measuring. If the recipe says, “I cup [ingredient], chopped,” then you measure BEFORE chopping. If it says, “I cup chopped [ingredient],” you should measure AFTER chopping. But I don’t think it was a huge deal in this recipe, and looks like the cake still came out great. Thanks for sharing!

  5. I’d love to have a piece of that cake! We’ve been trying to eat healthier (which means I’m TRYING to resist the urge to make sweets and leave them sitting around the kitchen to snack on), but I’ll hang onto this recipe for a special occasion. I almost always really really like peanut butter desserts.

  6. Pingback: Definitely RA | Whip It Up Wrap-Up #2

Leave a Reply

